Designated Countries Removed From NSEERS

Categories: Immigration Lawyer Blog San Diego

For the past 6 years individuals from Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain,Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia,Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon,Libya, Morocco, North Korea, Oman,Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia,Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United ArabEmirates, and Yemen were required to comply with special registration procedures under the National Security Entry-Exit Registration System (NSEERS).

In one of their smarter moves the Department of Homeland Security realized that recapturing all of this information manually that they already obtained electronically was “redundant and no longer provides any increase in security. DHS therefore, has determined that it is no longer necessary to subject nationals from these countries to special registration procedures”.

Here is the full DHS memo.