2015 Diversity Visa Program begins October 1, 2013

Categories: Immigration Lawyer Blog San Diego

On October 1, 2013, the U.S. Department of State will begin accepting applications for the Diversity Visa lottery.  The 2015 will provide 50,000 visas in this category to immigrants from countries with historically low immigration rates to the United States.  Natives of the following country are not eligible to apply: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. There are two main requirements for entry into the Diversity Visa lottery: (1) the individual applicant must have been born in a qualifying country; and (2) the individual applicant must have a high school education or equivalent OR two years of work experience within the past five years in an occupation requiring at least two years of training or experience to perform, which is determined by the U.S. Department of Labor’s O*Net Online database. The Diversity Visa entry system will be active between noon, eastern time on October 1, 2013 and noon, eastern time on November 2, 2013.  Interested individuals should go to www.dvlottery.state.gov to submit an application.  Individuals are then randomly selected from the submissions.